Challenges at a Glance

ChallengesDue to Fairchild by 5:00 pmMaximum PointsMaximum Number of Entries
Educator Challenge: Expedition Discovery – Ecosystem QuestMonday, January 9 to
Sunday, January 15, 2023
50 bonus points

1 adventure & 
1 pin design

1. Bee the ChangeMonday, October 17 to
Sunday, October 23, 2022
200
(100/entry)
2 videos

2. Green Treasures – Food of the Gods
*OPTIONAL Student Workshop: Thursday, October 13, 10:00 am to 1:00 pm

Monday, November 14 to
Sunday, November 20, 2022

200
(100/entry)

2 illustrated recipes

3. Miami, My Garden

Monday, December 5 to
Sunday, December 11, 2022
2001 video

4. Growing Beyond Earth
*REQUIRED Teacher Workshop: Saturday, September 17 (11:30 am – 4:30 pm) or Wednesday, September 21 (4:30 pm – 8:30 pm)
*OPTIONAL Student Research Symposium: Saturday, April 29, Time TBD

Trial 1 Data and Optional Trial 2 proposal due Friday, December 9, 2022


Trial 1 Poster due:
Monday January 9 to
Sunday, January 15, 2023


Optional Trial 2 Data and Presentation Due:
Wednesday, April 26, 2023

400
(200 trial 1 data/200 poster)


100 bonus points for Symposium presentation

1 poster
5. Lizards on the Loose
*REQUIRED Teacher Workshop: Saturday, December 3, Time TBD
Monday, April 17 to
Sunday, April 23, 2023
3001 SchoolScape
6. School Garden – Growing Up!
*OPTIONAL Teacher Workshop: Wednesday, October 5, 10:00 am to 3:00 pm
*Garden Grant Due: Friday, October 21, 2022

Garden Grant Application Due: Friday, October 21


Monday, April 24 to
Sunday, April 30, 2023

4001 design & 1 infographic
OPTIONAL National Challenge: The Next NASA Mission PatchMonday, November 28 to
Sunday, December 4, 2022
100 points
(50/entry)
2 entries

Downloadable PDF

AWARDS and PRIZES 

The Fairchild Challenge Awards Ceremony is Saturday, May 20, 2023. At this time, the following awards and prizes will be distributed:

  • Each middle school that earns more than 1300 points will receive The Fairchild Challenge Award.
  • Each school that receives The Fairchild Challenge Award for five consecutive years will become a Fairchild Challenge School of Excellence.
  • The top-scoring schools will receive cash prizes, up to $1,500, to support their environmental programs.
  • Top-placing students will receive Fairchild Challenge medals and/or certificates. Special Merit winners will also be recognized.
  • All participating schools receive a limited quantity of four-person family passes to Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden to distribute to actively participating students and teachers. 
X