Challenges at a Glance

ChallengesDue to Fairchild by 5:00 pmMaximum PointsMaximum Number of Entries
Educator Challenge: Expedition Discovery – Ecosystem Quest
Monday, January 9 to
Sunday, January 15, 2023
50 bonus points1 adventure & 
1 pin design

1. Green Treasures – Food of the Gods
*OPTIONAL Student Workshop: Thursday, October 13, 10:00 am to 1:00 pm

Monday, November 14 to
Sunday, November 20, 2022
200
(100/entry)
2 books
2. Miami, My GardenMonday, December 5 to
Sunday, December 11, 2022

200

1 video
3. Environmental Debate Tournament
*OPTIONAL Student Workshop: Saturday, November 19, 9:00 am – 11:00 am
*Event: Thursday, February 9, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Wednesday,
February 2, 2023

300
(75/student)


25 bonus points
(alternate team)

4 students


2 students

4. The Million Orchid Project
*REQUIRED Teacher Workshop: Saturday, September August 27, 10:00 am to 2:00 pm

Monday, March 13 to
Sunday, March 19, 2023

350
(150 data and
100/entry)

2 entries

5. Growing Beyond Earth®
*REQUIRED Teacher Workshop: Saturday, September 17 (11:30 am – 4:30 pm) or Wednesday, September 21 (4:30 pm – 8:30 pm)

Student Research Symposium: Saturday, April 29, Time TBD

Trial 1 Data and Proposal Due: Friday, December 9, 2022


Trial 2 Data and Presentation Due:
Wednesday, April 26, 2023

450
(180 Trial 1/Trial 2 data,
50 proposal, 220  presentation/symposium)

1 presentation
6. School Garden – Growing Up!
*OPTIONAL Teacher Workshop: Wednesday, October 5, 10:00 am to 3:00 pm
*Garden Grant Due: Friday, October 21, 2022

Garden Grant Application Due: Friday, October 21


Monday, April 24 to
Sunday, April 30, 2023

400

1 design, 1 video and 1 recipe
OPTIONAL National Challenge: The Next NASA Mission Patch
Monday, November 28 to
Sunday, December 4, 2022
100 bonus points
(50/entry)

2 entries

Downloadable PDF

AWARDS and PRIZES 

The Fairchild Challenge Awards Ceremony is Wednesday, May 24, 2023 from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm. At this time, the following awards and prizes will be distributed:

  • Each high school that earns more than 1350 points will receive The Fairchild Challenge Award.
  • Each school that receives The Fairchild Challenge Award for five consecutive years will become a Fairchild Challenge School of Excellence.
  • The top-scoring schools will receive cash prizes, up to $1,500, to support their environmental programs.
  • Top-placing students will receive Fairchild Challenge medals and/or certificates. Special Merit winners will also be recognized.
  • All participating schools receive a limited quantity of four-person family passes to Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden to distribute to actively participating students and teachers. 
X